<?xml version="1.0" encoding="UTF-8"?>
<rss version="2.0"
	xmlns:content="http://purl.org/rss/1.0/modules/content/"
	xmlns:wfw="http://wellformedweb.org/CommentAPI/"
	xmlns:dc="http://purl.org/dc/elements/1.1/"
	xmlns:atom="http://www.w3.org/2005/Atom"
	xmlns:sy="http://purl.org/rss/1.0/modules/syndication/"
	xmlns:slash="http://purl.org/rss/1.0/modules/slash/"
	>

<channel>
	<title>DIY Librarian &#187; Databases</title>
	<atom:link href="http://diylibrarian.org/archive/category/databases/feed/" rel="self" type="application/rss+xml" />
	<link>http://diylibrarian.org</link>
	<description>Librarianship for the people</description>
	<lastBuildDate>Mon, 26 Jul 2010 20:29:22 +0000</lastBuildDate>
	<generator>http://wordpress.org/?v=2.8.4</generator>
	<language>en</language>
	<sy:updatePeriod>hourly</sy:updatePeriod>
	<sy:updateFrequency>1</sy:updateFrequency>
			<item>
		<title>POPLINE removes, restores abortion as search term</title>
		<link>http://diylibrarian.org/archive/2008/04/09/popline-removes-restores-abortion-as-search-term/</link>
		<comments>http://diylibrarian.org/archive/2008/04/09/popline-removes-restores-abortion-as-search-term/#comments</comments>
		<pubDate>Wed, 09 Apr 2008 15:11:03 +0000</pubDate>
		<dc:creator>Tara</dc:creator>
				<category><![CDATA[Databases]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[Libraries]]></category>

		<guid isPermaLink="false">http://diylibrarian.org/archive/2008/04/09/popline-removes-restores-abortion-as-search-term/</guid>
		<description><![CDATA[A medical librarian recently discovered that POPLINE, a reproductive health database administered by Johns Hopkins, had made &#8220;abortion&#8221; a stop word. I blogged about this at work, and NPR and the Baltimore Sun have good articles, but thought I&#8217;d offer some of my personal comments here.
I&#8217;m sure most readers of this blog know that stop [...]]]></description>
			<content:encoded><![CDATA[<p>A medical librarian recently discovered that <a href="http://www.popline.org">POPLINE</a>, a reproductive health database administered by Johns Hopkins, had made &#8220;abortion&#8221; a stop word. I <a href="http://info.pop.psu.edu/2008/04/09/popline-restores-abortion-as-search-term/">blogged about this at work</a>, and <a href="http://www.npr.org/templates/story/story.php?storyId=89486048">NPR</a> and the <a href="http://www.baltimoresun.com/news/health/bal-te.popline05apr05,0,6737683.story"><em>Baltimore Sun</em></a> have good articles, but thought I&#8217;d offer some of my personal comments here.</p>
<p>I&#8217;m sure most readers of this blog know that stop words are typically things like &#8220;a&#8221; and &#8220;the&#8221; &#8211; not nouns like &#8220;abortion&#8221;. Indeed, &#8220;abortion&#8221; is a <a href="http://db.jhuccp.org/ics-wpd/popweb/Thesaurus/tr7.htm">POPLINE keyword</a>.</p>
<p>Apparently, the whole mess started when <a href="http://www.usaid.gov/">USAID</a>, POPLINE&#8217;s funder, objected to a few articles it deemed &#8220;abortion advocacy&#8221;. By law, <a href="http://www.usaid.gov/our_work/global_health/pop/restrictions.html">USAID is prohibited from promoting abortion</a> and &#8220;places high priority on preventing abortions.&#8221; However, information about abortion is important to preventing it.</p>
<p>Johns Hopkins has since restored the search term. Kudos to them for a speedy reaction, but I don&#8217;t understand why the offending articles weren&#8217;t dealt with on an individual level to begin with.</p>
<p><strong>Update (April 10):</strong> A <a href="http://www.librarian.net/stax/2276/librarians-notice-abortion-stop-word-take-action/#comment-118346">commenter at librarian.net</a> has an interesting possible explanation.</p>
<p><strong>Update (April 11):</strong> Ipas, the nonprofit organization that published the magazine USAID objected to, has issued a <a href="http://www.ipas.org./Library/News/News_Items/Ipas_calls_for_further_investigation_of_U.S._government_censorship_of_abortion_information.aspx">press release</a>.</p>
<blockquote><p>The Ipas publication affirms women’s access to safe abortion as a human  right. It does not promote abortion, maintaining that a woman’s decision to have  an abortion is hers to make in accordance with her right to life, health, bodily  integrity, nondiscrimination, privacy, liberty, and religious freedom.</p></blockquote>
]]></content:encoded>
			<wfw:commentRss>http://diylibrarian.org/archive/2008/04/09/popline-removes-restores-abortion-as-search-term/feed/</wfw:commentRss>
		<slash:comments>0</slash:comments>
		</item>
	</channel>
</rss>
